Virat Kohli Removed From ODI Captaincy!

As BCCI named 18-member squad for the test against South Africa.

The National selection committee replaced Virat Kohli as India’s ODI captain on Wednesday, leaving Rohit Sharma as the team’s sole white-ball captain until the 2023 50-over World Cup.

Another key development was the removal of Ajinkya Rahane from Test vice-captaincy.

Due to injury, all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja, spinner Axar Patel, and opener Shubman Gill were not included in the BCCI’s 18-man roster for the three-Test series.

Hanuma Vihari has returned to the team, while Ishant Sharma has kept his spot despite his poor performance.

The series he won as captain should have signified his return to form, but he went through a major downturn in 2021, with an average of under 20 across 12 tests.

One of the reasons Rahane has kept his spot is that new coach Rahul Dravid wants to give him a wide rope before moving on, and the South Africa series could likely be his last at the international level if he fails to meet expectations.

Squad: Virat Kohli (Capt), Rohit Sharma(VC), KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant(wk), Wriddhiman Saha(wk), R Ashwin, Jayant Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Mohd. Shami, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Shardul Thakur, Md. Siraj.

Standby Players: Navdeep Saini, Saurabh Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Arzan Nagwaswalla.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.